First Show


Wow, I’m tired!

This weekend I put together a booth to demonstrate and discuss the uses of hemp fibre at the Treating Yourself Expo in Toronto at the Metro Toronto Convention Centre. Its a medical marijuana (alternative therapy), and hemp expo.

On Thursday, I got to the convention centre at 11:30am. It was pretty cool driving into the convention centre show floor, parking at my booth and unloading. Otherwise, driving uptown and downtown many times is something I usually try to avoid! Friday was the longest day. The show opened at 10am, and we even made it in time through the rush hour traffic and a few detours. After the show close we went to the expo dinner, but left before the entertainment. Saturday was a 10am-8pm day again, and Sunday was a relaxing 10am-6pm. We made it in about 10:30…!

I took a bunch of video on Saturday, and on Sunday remembered to haul out a camera, and find a willing friend.

My booth. Its fun getting a chance to talk to Neil Magnuson, who came in from BC.

A closeup of me in my booth for Lisa’s Macro Monday!

Lots of people had never seen a knitting machine. All in all it was fun talking to people about hemp fibre. It was really interesting to find out from total strangers what kinds of things they would like to see from hemp  fibre. The tank top with the print ranked number one. I’m pretty glad that in my most recent order I asked for 10 yards of their new softer t-shirt material, now I can’t wait for it to come in.

This was a great show to pick up contacts, network and learn. My next show will be a yarn specific show in September. The KW Knitters’ Guild puts on an amazing show every year. Last year at the yarn show I volunteered at the Lana Knits hemp booth. When I was in BC working in April, Lana told me she will not be out east this year. I’m really happy to get the chance to represent selling hemp yarn this year.

Thanks to everyone who came by to chat! I had a great time. It was amazing to meet people who know so many details about the fibre. I met a woman who has studied the fibre in France!

Right now I think I will go sleep until tomorrow.

This entry was posted in FibreArts, Traveling and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to First Show

  1. Kala says:

    Great shots of you at the knitting machine. Love your tattoos too.

  2. kirk says:

    rad on ya dear

Leave a Reply

