Even More Natural Hemp Dyeing


I find I’m doing a lot of this work at the present. Winding yarn into skeins and dyeing them with turmeric. Drying the skein and rerolling them into balls. I’m setting up a bunch of yarn to do it all over again on Wed night, in front of other people! I love how this lighter dyed twine came out. I used half the turmeric, and I died more skeins. The dyebath was much more exhausted after this run.

I’m looking forward to seeing how the yarns, bleached and natural, turn out. I’m still not using a mordant.

The lineup.

This is a different twine that I had on hand, and matches well enough, so I dyed it up too. I think it will work for this application and its nice to get some use out of stuff that can sit around. I’m not doing much macrame and I have plenty of colours still on hand.

The rest of this is the regular twine I tried out.

This entry was posted in FibreArts and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Even More Natural Hemp Dyeing

  1. Pingback: Even More Natural Hemp Dyeing | Farmablefibres' Blog | The Hemp Network News

  2. Mildred says:

    Wonderful shots of very nice yarn!
    Thanks for sharing. And thanks for visiting and taking the time to comment;o)
    ¤ Happy day ¤

Leave a Reply

