A Close Look At Dyeing Hemp With Turmeric


I have put these pictures together today for my friend Mouse. He is taking hemp twine and making it into an exciting product. I have been helping him out by putting a bunch of materials and time towards this project to help figure out how to solve some problems we had in getting a few of the things we are doing to work. Dyeing hemp is tricky. Only so many materials out there will even dent it.

Its great to see something get started and take off. I can’t wait to see how this idea grows.

The hemp twine.

I wrap up 4 balls into 1 skein.

To wrap up the twine in a skein, I used a swift. Tie it into one point and twirl the thing from the top.

Used up 8 balls of twine. 4 balls in each skein. Just under 1 pound for each skein. Around 400 grams each.

Using turmeric with no mordant keeps everything edible. I use my pasta pot on the stove.

It holds about a gallon of water (4L). I add 1/8 of a cup of turmeric.

Stir well.

I heat it up for a bit so I can keep stirring. Then add in the twine.

The twine sits in the pot while it gets to a boil. I turn it over with tongs occasionally. When it gets to a hard boil I turn the heat down to a slow boil, and keep turning over the twine until it reaches a colour I like.

Take it out from the dye bath and rinse with cold water.

Hang to dry.

I did not use any special resistance tie techniques, I wanted an even coating of colour across as much of the twine as possible.

Hope you all enjoy this close look at natural dyeing on Lisa’s Monday Macro too!

This entry was posted in FibreArts and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to A Close Look At Dyeing Hemp With Turmeric

  1. Pingback: A Close Look At Dyeing Hemp With Turmeric | Farmablefibres' Blog | The Hemp Network News

  2. Myriad says:

    I was looking through your post and got totally distracted by the bookshelves behind the swift, because I recognize so many of the spines 🙂 I applaud your choice in literature, especially Sherri S. Tepper.

  3. Susan says:

    Very interesting! I love the idea of safe dyes whether for foods (like beet juice) or for textiles.

  4. I also tried cabbage, which I think needs a mordant and blackberries, that were intriguing, but also extremely messy.

    I’ve been thinking about what its like to go electronic, but so far I really still like a book in my hand. Most of these are second hand. The hardcovers had to be moved out to the basement.

    Some more titles for you.

  5. Kala says:

    Very interesting process you’ve shown us. And I could never give up my books for Kindle or anything like it!

  6. genie says:

    Being a spinner and a knitter, I have done my fair share of home dying, but this is a new one…and I love the idea on NO mordant….not having to worry about the pot. The color you got is one I really like. I may have to give this one a try. And to think…I won’t have to spin it first. That is a real plus. Great series of shots. Genie in Virginia

Leave a Reply

