Closeups From The Farm


I went back for some tranquil shots from the farm this week. We were moving out wood from a fallen apple tree when my husband discovered the bee nest and got stung a few times. Thankfully it was not me, I’m quite allergic. I had to clear out of the space of angry bees.

The wind moves like silk among the grass blades, and makes a whispering noise I try my hardest to understand.

Earlier this spring I counted my gooseberries before I managed to harvest them! Only the lucky birds saw the harvest this year. My dream of ripe berries goes unanswered. I was too slow!

Could I make a chamomile tea?

Finally, the mallow flower (heh, I think). For a long time, I thought this was marshmallows come from!

Hope you enjoy Lisa’s Monday Macro as much as I had taking the shots for this week.

This entry was posted in FarmPics, Macro and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to Closeups From The Farm

  1. beautiful photos…I especially love the closed chamomile heads:-)

  2. Pam says:

    Beautiful photos..really love the flowers.

  3. Gloria says:

    Really love the mallow flowers…they look so delicate but I’d proably believe that you could get marshmallows from them too, and wouldn’t that be funny if that were true?
    Smile today. 🙂

  4. Well, it is true that marshmallows used to come from the marshmallow plant! No longer – now there is no hint of real marshmallow in the ones we eat – but they used to be made from extracts of the plant, sweetened, and formed into chewy, sticky, sweetmeats. It also used to be used as a remedy for sore throats.

    There. I bet you’re glad I came along! 😉

    Your photos are gorgeous. I like the cocksfoot grass, too. And I’m very glad you didn’t get stung.

  5. pip says:

    I love these photos… and listening to the grass 🙂

  6. KnitterInPink says:

    Ahhh!! Those are gooseberry’s!! I used to LOVE those when I was growing up. We had bushes in the back yard, but sometime over the years something got them…frost or blight or something…but MAN I loved some gooseberry’s. You don’t see them much anymore!

Leave a Reply

