HAL01 – Worsted01 – Part 1


I have been getting a lot of requests for this hat pattern. Here is my first Hat/Hemp along. I crocheted this hat with a 12 ply worsted 100% raw hemp yarn. I have used a 5.5mm metal hook.

I created a hat with a circumfrence of 21 inches, before I made the brim. I think I crochet a pretty tight stitch. There is very little give to cellulose fibres in any case!

I originally posted this hat here.

On my latest trip to the US, I started another hat and took pictures after each round. This is how I make this style of hat.

I start with a loop

I create my anchor knot

You can see how this start works in video here. I don’t use a double loop, because this 12 ply worsted hemp is quite strong.

I add my 6 starting stitches.

Tighten the ring down

I use single crochet stitches throughout this hat pattern. The first ring of 6 will now be doubled to 12 stitches. Stitch 2 stitches into each of the 6 single stitches.

The first round is 6 stitches long. The second round is 12 stitches long. The third and all successive rounds in the crown of the hat will now increase by 6 stitches for each round.

Round 3: crochet 1 stitch in the first stitch and then crochet 2 stitches into the next stitch. Repeat 6 times, so the next row will be 18 stitches long.

Round 4: crochet 1 stitch in the first and second stitches and then crochet 2 stitches into the third stitch. Repeat 6 times, so the next row will be 24 stitches long.

Round 5: crochet 1 stitch in the first, second and third stitches and then crochet 2 stitches into the fourth stitch. Repeat 6 times, so the next row will be 30 stitches long.

Round 6: crochet 1 stitch in the first, through forth stitches and then crochet 2 stitches into the fifth stitch. Repeat 6 times, so the next row will be 36 stitches long.

Round 7: crochet 1 stitch in the first, through fifth stitches and then crochet 2 stitches into the sixth stitch. Repeat 6 times, so the next row will be 42 stitches long.

Round 8: crochet 1 stitch in the first, through sixth stitches and then crochet 2 stitches into the seventh stitch. Repeat 6 times, so the next row will be 48 stitches long.

Round 9: crochet 1 stitch in the first, through seventh stitches and then crochet 2 stitches into the eighth stitch. Repeat 6 times, so the next row will be 54 stitches long.

Round 10: crochet 1 stitch in the first, through eighth stitches and then crochet 2 stitches into the ninth stitch. Repeat 6 times, so the next row will be 60 stitches long.

Round 11: crochet 1 stitch in the first, through ninth stitches and then crochet 2 stitches into the tenth stitch. Repeat 6 times, so the next row will be 66 stitches long.

Round 12: crochet 1 stitch in the first, through tenth stitches and then crochet 2 stitches into the eleventh stitch. Repeat 6 times, so the next row will be 72 stitches long.

This is where I stopped making the crown of the hat for my particular head size. Measuring around my head from my forehead to the bone above the back of my neck (head circumference) is 22″. The Hat circumference at this point (72 stitches long) is 21″. This hat fits me snuggly. The original hat in the picture is 84 stitches long. The looser hat fits better as a bucket hat. The tighter hat fits better as a fedora.

Some experimentation may be necessary for each individual at this point. Comparing your head circumference to the hat circumference is a start. If you decide to proceed with making the sides of the hat and it feels too tight or too loose, you will have to really should return to this point of the pattern and adjust accordingly (for some tricks to adjust hat fit later in the process, check out part 2). Hat fit comfort is very individual. How your yarn will act after it is washed and blocked is also a factor in figuring out what will work for you.

The next stage of making this hat is the easiest. We change from making increasing rows. From this point until we reach the hat height we want, each row of stitches maintains the stitch row number. In this hat case we stopped the increases when the rows are 72 stitches long. Each subsequent row for this part of the design is 72 stitches long.

The hexagonal shape of the hat crown will be evident for a few more rows. Then the hat will gradually start shaping with following rows.

Rounds 13-35: single crochet 72 stitches in each row around.

Continue adding rows.

Deciding how tall your hat should be for your head, again brings up to a point in the design that is individual to every individual out there. I like my hat to hit just above my ears, and also to have some headroom at the top for ventilation and space for the dent in the fedora. This makes for a taller hat than would be strictly necessary for a bucket hat.

At this point I would also note that some people like their hat to hit over/around their ears. This could affect the original circumference measurement.

This is what I have completed on the hat. I have made 20 rows of 72 stitches long. Those rows measure 4 1/4″ tall. I think I will continue to crochet on another inch of rows and then start working on the brim. Further instructions to finish this hat will follow!

This entry was posted in FibreArts and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to HAL01 – Worsted01 – Part 1

  1. KathyLu says:

    Where did you get the 12 ply hemp?

  2. I sell this 12 ply hemp. I got it from my supplier.

    Its not a very prevalent yarn size in the market. I like how strong it is, and I have been working on patterns that work with it, in both knitting and crochet. I like working out patterns in this yarn first, then working out the same in the 6ply

Leave a Reply

