HAL01 – Worsted01 – Part 2


I finished this hat at a number of appointments as well as during a flax group meeting I attended last week. I did not have many opportunities to take pictures, it was a really dark hall for the presentation. Much of my instruction list will be written. I have started another HAL for a size larger than this one to show how the hat will shape differently when I retain all the rest of the dimensions, but change the circumference.

To assess fit for the fedora pinch I would put the hat on my head and try to pinch down the crown the way I like. There is a balance between how the hat perches on your head versus how tall the hat is to accommodate the pinch. And it always comes down to a matter of personal taste here.

My marker is at the point of the crown where I switch to rows of the same number of stitches rather than increasing. I crocheted down 23 rows in total which measures 5 1/8″.

For the first row of the brim I like to change my stitch up. Normally I make my stitches through both loops of the previous chain stitch.

If you use this method it will make a much more rolled brim on the hat.

This is not the method I use!

Instead, for one row I only crochet through the loop closest to the outer stitches of the hat.

This stitch will create an angle outwards on the outside of the crocheted hat.

And leaves a “rib” on the inside of the hat.

Round 36: I continue to crochet through only one side of the chain stitches for the entire 72 stitch round.

After this one set row switch back to normal crochet where you bring the hook through both loops of the previous chain stitch.

Round 37: crochet 1 stitch in the first, through eleventh stitches and then crochet 2 stitches into the twelfth stitch. Repeat 6 times, so the next row will be 78 stitches long.

Round 38: crochet 1 stitch in the first, through twelfth stitches and then crochet 2 stitches into the thirteenth stitch. Repeat 6 times, so the next row will be 84 stitches long.

Round 39: crochet 1 stitch in the first, through thirteenth stitches and then crochet 2 stitches into the fourteenth stitch. Repeat 6 times, so the next row will be 90 stitches long.

Round 40-44: single crochet 90 stitches in each row around.

Bind off and sew down the ends.

The tight brim on this hat makes it feel very european to me.

This hat is easy to mold, and sits tight on my head so it does not slide around. I look forward to seeing what it is like after it gets washed a few times. For a looser hat I may need to stiffen the fedora brim. This hat feels like it will hold nicely without the stiffener.
This hat can be made out of almost any similarly sized cellulose fibre yarn. I like to use hemp, linen, and cotton.

I’m not sure how much this hat will shrink once it is washed. I beilieve the yarns shrink about 10%, but I know its not completely even shrinking between the different crafts – weaving – knitting – crochet.

Next up – a hemp hat with a 78 stitch row circumference.

This entry was posted in FibreArts and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

