HAL03 – Worsted03 – Part 1


Shrinkage. hmmmm.

My first 2 hats were still a bit wet coming out of the dryer, but they made it through the wash ok. They feel really dense. I’m itching to get to wearing them in.

At shows I tend to quote 10% as the amount the raw yarns will shrink. I have been trying to measure this for different mediums (knitting, crochet, weaving, macrame, braiding, etc..)

The 21″ circumference hat shrank down to 20 1/2″. The hat shrank in height from 5 1/8″ to a touch over 4 1/2″. It perches on my head about a 1/2″ above my ears, making this hat now about a size too small for me.

The 22 1/2″ circumfrence hat shrank down to 22″. The hat shrank in height from 5″ to 4 3/4″. Of course this makes this hat a size or so too large for me. I’m not really sure why this hat shrank less than the first one. But I suspect it was in the manufacture!

For this next Hat (Hemp) ALong I am using my hand dyed worsted hemp yarns. They feel completely different than the raw yarns in handling. They have been dyed and washed, so they feel so much softer on the hands already.

Here is the third Hat/Hemp along. I crocheted this hat with a 12 ply worsted 100% hemp yarn that has been hand dyed. I have used a 5.5mm metal hook.

If you have been following along, in the first hat along, I talked about widening the sideband part of the hat. You can do this to fix the circumference of a hat if you have made it too tight fitting and do not wish to frog back to the crown increase stitches spot. In this hat I’m going to widen the side band every few rows (I’m thinking about every fifth row).

These starting pictures are the pictures I took from my fall trip to the US, I took pictures after each round. This is how I make this style of hat.

I start with a loop

I create my anchor knot

You can see how this start works in video here. I don’t use a double loop, because this 12 ply worsted hemp is quite strong.

I add my 6 starting stitches.

Tighten the ring down

I use single crochet stitches throughout this hat pattern. The first ring of 6 will now be doubled to 12 stitches. Stitch 2 stitches into each of the 6 single stitches.

The first round is 6 stitches long. The second round is 12 stitches long. The third and all successive rounds in the crown of the hat will now increase by 6 stitches for each round.

Round 3: crochet 1 stitch in the first stitch and then crochet 2 stitches into the next stitch. Repeat 6 times, so the next row will be 18 stitches long.

Round 4: crochet 1 stitch in the first and second stitches and then crochet 2 stitches into the third stitch. Repeat 6 times, so the next row will be 24 stitches long.

Round 5: crochet 1 stitch in the first, second and third stitches and then crochet 2 stitches into the fourth stitch. Repeat 6 times, so the next row will be 30 stitches long.

Round 6: crochet 1 stitch in the first, through forth stitches and then crochet 2 stitches into the fifth stitch. Repeat 6 times, so the next row will be 36 stitches long.

Round 7: crochet 1 stitch in the first, through fifth stitches and then crochet 2 stitches into the sixth stitch. Repeat 6 times, so the next row will be 42 stitches long.

Round 8: crochet 1 stitch in the first, through sixth stitches and then crochet 2 stitches into the seventh stitch. Repeat 6 times, so the next row will be 48 stitches long.

Round 9: crochet 1 stitch in the first, through seventh stitches and then crochet 2 stitches into the eighth stitch. Repeat 6 times, so the next row will be 54 stitches long.

Round 10: crochet 1 stitch in the first, through eighth stitches and then crochet 2 stitches into the ninth stitch. Repeat 6 times, so the next row will be 60 stitches long.

Round 11: crochet 1 stitch in the first, through ninth stitches and then crochet 2 stitches into the tenth stitch. Repeat 6 times, so the next row will be 66 stitches long.

Round 12: crochet 1 stitch in the first, through tenth stitches and then crochet 2 stitches into the eleventh stitch. Repeat 6 times, so the next row will be 72 stitches long.

This is as far as I have gotten on this hat. Next I will switch to 4-5-6 rounds of 72 stitches with increases of single rounds in the interval. I’m going to stick with the taller height I’ve been working on, to get the pinch I want for the fedora in. One of the increase rounds will have to be 3 rather than 6 if the other hat sizes are accurate for my head size, we’ll see.

This entry was posted in FibreArts and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

