A Year of Washcloths


This year I dedicated a huge portion of time to making wash cloths to show off the versatility of hemp & linen.

I honed the leaf lace and candlelight patterns. I sold 2! Even though I only offered them for sale at one show. I worked out a pattern for 2 weights of yarn (the 3 and 12 plys) that use most of a 100 gram skein. Now I’m ready to sell and replace the stock I have available.

The 3 ply yarns make the most luxurious face and body cloths. They are anti microbial, hold up really well to use and abuse, and dry out quickly. I made this one from Lanaknits 3 ply 100% hemp yarns.

I also made one from my natural undyed 3 ply yarns from Romania.

All of the next wash cloth pictures are in 12 ply 100% hemp worsted yarn. They are extremely durable and absorbent. These make a great kitchen towel.

I tried out a few wash cloths in linen stitch, as well as checking out the planned pooling I could do with these pieces.

Switching over to the diamond shape, the pooling changes a bit because the piece is continually expanding and contracting. It gives things a bit more of a shell kind of look to me.

I made a fair number of undyed wash cloths. I can individually dye up leaves of these pieces, for a different kind of patterning.

The 100 gram pattern.

I had fun making this next wash cloth. I posted about this wash cloth a few months ago. Its my Inspiration in Ketchup and Mustard. I combined 2 strands of Lanaknits 6ply yarns in red and mustard that I had lying around from previous projects. Of course they ran out 3/4’s of the way through the knitting. I finished with my natural 12 ply yarn. In person it looks like I dipped the raw piece into a marbling of some kind!

This experiment lead me to combining Louet euroflax 4 ply linen yarns to make these next wash cloths. I combined coral and fuchsia.

And finally the  wash cloth in candlelight lace!

In this final piece, I combined both Louet linen (orange), and my own hand dyed 6 ply Romanian hemp yarn (fall colours).

The diamond patterns (leaf and candlelight laces) are available for free, and work well in hemp linen or cotton. Please email me at farmablefibres@gmail.com for the files.

Over Xmas the silk scarves I made were a hit. All the irises are taken and a hemp leaf scarf also went out as a gift to my willing guinea pigs! I have done my best to set the colours in the silk. Now everyone will let me know how they are wearing out.

I will not get more silk until I go back to California in February. The main supplier is there and worth the wait. I made some prototype hemp scarves and a tissue dyed tea towel. Still testing those to see how the dye fades before I take some pics.

Not having a supply of silk made me look over my home inventory of fabric. I’m fairly overextended for having purchased an inventory of silk yarns. I can’t really afford too keep buying materials. I’m at a point where I must sell things before I buy more. My house is getting pretty full! Also, I want to hone my selection of products available . I want to be as smart as possible in the inventory I am keeping on hand. There is so much really cool stuff out there, it makes for some hard decisions.

I looked over my stock, and find that I have enough fabric to make a range of jersey hemp, woven hemp, woven hemp/silk, jersey cotton/hemp, and woven cotton scarves and bandanas. To start, I cut up the hemp/cotton jersey fabric into a range of sizes. 6 – 10.5″x72″, 24 – 10.5″x60″ and 4 – 32″x32″. Its time to get to work dyeing!

This entry was posted in FibreArts and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to A Year of Washcloths

  1. These are all so lovely! Thanks for sharing. I am a beginner knitter, and I would love to create a few of these. Any tips???

    • All of these patterns incorporate standard lace knitting stitches on the knit side of the work only. That makes things a bit easier to start with!

      You will need to know a few lace knitting stitches. Try practicing right and left leaning single decreases – ssk (slip one stitch knitwise, slip one stitch knitwise, knit the 2 slipped stitches together) and k2t (knit 2 together). You will also need to know how to work a double decrease – sk2po (slip one stitch knitwise, knit 2 together, pass the slipped stitch back over the k2t stitch).

      I look up stitches on you tube when I need to remember how the stitch is worked. Are you on Ravelry at all? Could I see projects you have worked on? I have the leaf pattern available in chart form if you would like to try knitting it up.

  2. barbraabf says:

    All colors are lovely….

  3. SaffronSkye says:

    Nice! I love hand knit wash cloths!! I have a friend who sold hers paired with some lovely hand made soap all wrapped up in a pretty ribbon. They sold quite well 🙂

Leave a Reply

