Hand Dyeing Scarves


I have 17 colours of Procion MX Dyes on hand. I have 19 scarves all tied up, and each scarf will get at least 2 colours. I will be able to see how a few colours combine together, as well as how the main colours will look on my different hemp and hemp blend fabrics. I also wrapped up 1 lb of my newest 10/2 superfine lace weight yarn of 100% Romanian hemp.

I went through every book I have, and wrapped up the scarves using all the binding methods I could find that do not require any sewing. I used rubber bands, but I’m a little scared about the colour running from them. I used both colours and neutrals on this first batch!

Crumpled pieces for an all over marbled effect. A 100% hemp scarf and a 60% hemp 40% silk scarf.

Twisted pieces for a diagonal pattern. One piece is twisted then wrapped around an object. A 55% hemp 45% cotton scarf and a 60% hemp 40% silk scarf.

Knotted pieces for burst/swirl patterns. A 55% hemp 45% cotton scarf and 2 60% hemp 40% silk scarves.

Binding a piece for resistance stripes in the scarf. I started with the simplest form of binding; bunching up the fabric and binding parts of it for resistance areas. A 60% hemp 40% silk scarf.

Binding to make circles and ovals in the scarf. I made a few different squids! I played around with both even and uneven patterns. A 55% hemp 45% cotton scarf and two 60% hemp 40% silk scarves.

Folding to make lines and block patterns in the scarf. The top scarf was evenly rolled, rather than folded. A 100% hemp scarf and three 60% hemp 40% silk scarves.

Diagonal folding to make bias lines and triangular patterns in the scarf. The top scarf has triangular folded ends and a crumpled and tied middle section. Three 60% hemp 40% silk scarves.

Mystery technique, because I can’t see what I did inside until I unbind it fully. A 55% hemp 45% cotton scarf.

I have computer work to attend to today. Hopefully I will also make enough time to dye today too. I can mix up my dyes in a back room that is not vented with the rest of the house. I don’t want to leave the house today, with the mess of snow and rain that fell overnight!

This entry was posted in FibreArts and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Hand Dyeing Scarves

  1. Marjorie says:

    I cannot wait to see these!

Leave a Reply

