Fibres West 2014


I finally have some pictures!

But, first a life update (those pics are a few weeks old already anyways!). Working two full-time jobs is just as crazy as it sounds. Just before Fibres West in March, the work to prep was very intense. Packages had to be out the door for delivery more than a week in advance of the show. My next show is Wasoon in Sault Ste Marie May 2-4. I’ve been prepping for Wasoon since I returned from BC. The line up for these two shows is quite different. The farm has been pretty frozen over this year with our late spring. This past weekend was an insane mix of friends travelling in from Victoria BC (great to see you both!), the Maple Syrup Festival in Elmira, and teaching a spinning class in Toronto at Lettuce Knit!

Fibres West was awesome! I had a great time in BC meeting new people and finding an amazingly aware audience for the bast fibres.

Just before the show, I was still drying out the hemp skeins I overdyed. They get a run through the washing machine and a light run though the dryer before I wrap them up again.

I put a 3 ply hand knit hemp sweater into the gallery.

These were the most colourful people of the show! Everything hand-made!

Funny how that’s my goal too! I’m halfway there! This is my hand knit 6 ply hemp sweater.

It was great to meet everyone, and I can’t wait to see you all again possibly in October.

My present work contract ends in April. I’ll be more in touch and up to date after that!

This entry was posted in FibreArts, Traveling and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Fibres West 2014

  1. Hi Daf,
    I have just finished spinning up to merino/hemp, it spun up so fine and easily. I played it with a very fine 2 ply reeled silk which I picked up at the Whidbey Island, WA. spin-in last weekend.
    I was the first one to buy your boxed batt if you wish to place me.
    It was a wonderful batt blend, all I have shown it to thought it quite wonderful too.
    I hadn’t realized you had travelled so far to attend Fibres West, I am glad you did, I enjoyed chatting to you.
    I plan to make a light weight top similar to what you had on.
    Hope to see you again next year…Susan

    • It was a pleasure to meet you too! I found a pic of you on your website, which always helps to keep all the different people I met at the show from blending after two days! I’m planning on coming back next year to help further cement names & faces. 🙂

      I’m so glad you enjoyed spinning up my hemp blend art fibre batt! This was a very experimental product for me. I have blended hemp fibres before, mainly with other undyed fibres. I don’t dye wool myself, I don’t use acid dyes. In the last few years, I have been travelling and trading for yarn & fibres everywhere I go. That fibre was hand dyed by Cosmic Fibres Yarn (http://www.etsy.com/ca/shop/cosmicfibersyarn) and I traded with her with silk yarn for it at Rhinebeck, NY two years ago!

      I chose this fibre first because it felt incredible in the braid, and there are 2 more braids to go. Another merino and a merino/alpaca/silk blend. I learned a new technique while I was in BC for feeding my carder, I’m looking forward to trying it out on future batts.

Leave a Reply

