Yarn Dyeing Segue


Five shows in three months, oh my! I have many pictures now backing up in my camera. And instead of posting things in order, I’m going to jump around and show off my latest yarn!

I’ve tried out a number of mercerized cotton cone yarns, and then I found skeins of lace weight yarns in a bin at my suppliers. A happy occurrence at the Twist Festival, allowed me to provide indigo blanks to a girlfriend who gave me back reference colour samples for both the cotton and hemp. I really liked the way the mercerized cotton resisted taking in the dye. These are pictures from my first batch.

I started the first batch primarily dyeing in colours in thirds on the skeins.

I liken this dyeing very much to developing film. In some ways it completely reminds me of some really great times I had in  the school film club, always wondering what the end product would be like!

The ombre worked so well, at the end of the first batch I made a few fully dyed skeins.

I have been dyeing up full colour skeins with as many of the dye colours I have on hand now. I want to see how they all look! To see the pooling interval, in the multicoloured skeins, I have begun knitting up a washcloth on 3.5 mm needles. There are a few intrepid knitters out there trying out patterns they are interested in with this lace yarn as well! I’m hoping to entice some crocheters to try out my new lace as well. I know interest in cotton lace will subside a bit through the winter, but I plan on making some kind of sweater for next summer now.

 

This entry was posted in FibreArts and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Yarn Dyeing Segue

  1. Anonymous says:

    I love to colors and your beautiful pictures. Congratulations.

  2. Pip says:

    Beautiful colours 🙂

Leave a Reply

