Looking to the Sky


My husband published in a conference recently in Providence RI. I took the chance to tag along. We drove there on Sunday and drove back home on Tuesday. On Monday I took a walk arround downtown searching for a bookstore (where I bought a weaving book from 1906). It was a difficult shop to find as I kept looking upwards at all the incredible architecture in downtown Providence.

providenceri02web

Sculpture by Lee Jae Hyo (I was able to find the artist online!) And the rest of the time I was pretty much looking up.

providenceri03web

providenceri05web

providenceri07web

providenceri08web

I was taking these pictures from across the street to get the widest field of view. There were stained glass pieces in every arch. I couldn’t see the details on the day, but I can enlarge the mostly blurry ones (the focus of the camera was always higher above them) and pretty much see heraldic looking stuff; lions, eagles, shields. Except for the one I did have in focus. The guy in his underwear!

providenceri09web

And back up!

providenceri11web

providenceri12web

providenceri13web

providenceri15web

providenceri16web

providenceri17web

providenceri18web

providenceri19web

providenceri20web

And a few impressive murals

providenceri21web

providenceri22web

This entry was posted in Traveling and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

