Getting Ready for the Summer


I am officially in two shows this year – the Twist Festival in St Andre-Avelline, QC in August and the Woodstock Fleece Festival in October. After a great small discussion with a friend yesterday, I have a glimpse of my fibre path again!

I started a few weeks ago with my fibre flax planting for the year. Originally I was going to rent a tiller, but my husband wanted to buy one instead. And this electric cutie has already been in use at both the city and farm houses this year. I can handle using it for about an hour at a stretch.

flax2017-01web

flax2017-02web

We cleared a 6 ft by 21 ft area. I marked it off with a shovel, and we finished it with the tiller.

flax2017-03web

flax2017-04web

I planted 4 varieties (marilyn, vesta, calina, and melina) just before we had rain for a week. I have sprouting from all the seeds at various rates. It will still take a few days to see how well spaced it is.

Marilyn (sprouting seeds)

flax2017-08marilynweb

flax2017-09marilynweb

Melina

flax2017-10melinaweb

flax2017-11melinaweb

Calista

flax2017-12calistaweb

flax2017-13calistaweb

Vesta

flax2017-14vestaweb

flax2017-15vestaweb

 

I also picked up this new house. Behold the Bee Chalet!

beechaletweb

 

 

This entry was posted in FarmPics, FibreArts and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

